double take

Last week’s school vacation afforded me the opportunity to spend time in the City with a very special visitor from Boston, my friend Emma.  In our short evening together, I set out to show her some of my favorite small details that often go unnoticed or unappreciated in the hustle of city life.  We started out on the N train from Brooklyn, so that Emma could see the animation art in the subway tunnel by Bill Brand.  It is best seen from the Q train, but we took what we could get from the N.  We were determined, with destinations in mind.  Namely, Prada SoHo and Rockefeller Center.  We rode over the bridge in the late afternoon sunlight. The view always takes my breath away.

Upon arrival in SoHo, and after the purchase of one $6.00 Canal Street infinity scarf, we strolled Broadway. We saw jeans with a unicorn print, jeweled eyelashes, and more styles of UGG boots than I knew existed. And then there was Prada.  Walking through the door is like walking into another world.  The extravagance of the brand aside, the building‘s architecture is stunning and it did not surprise me to learn that the space had previously been the location of the Guggenheim’s SoHo location.  Not one to ever set foot in a high end store, I was further surprised to find myself appreciating the beauty of the products, which almost seemed like works of art.  If there had not been very proper Prada employees at every turn, I imagine I could spend all day in that store taking photos.

From one beautiful building to another.  We headed to midtown to experience Rockefeller Center.  Secretly, or not so secretly, both Emma and I were wishing for a chance run-in with Liz Lemon, or at least Kenneth.  No such luck.  But we happily proceeded to the Top of the Rock anyway.  67 floors up and a little queasy, we found ourselves in another magnificent building.  This one was all art deco glory.  I was almost sad we had lost the daylight with with to see some of the building details…

But then there was this.  And I fell in love with New York all over again.  Whether we looked through the viewfinders or not, what a way to see the city.  And what a way to watch others see the city.  And especially, what a way to watch Emma see the city.  An evening that began with me thinking about how I would show Emma New York ended with me feeling grateful to Emma for showing me New York.  If it was not for her, I may not have ever gone to Prada SoHo or Top of the Rock.  And I am so glad I did.  Thank you, Emma.

Leave a Reply

