*pop*

My arrival in New York coincided with my acquisition of a smartphone.  I quickly began documenting my experience of New York using the camera phone and the Retro Camera application.  For a while the camera phone felt like an extension of my eye and I created a series of photos meant to show others how I see New York.  Others have become used to discovering, ten steps later, that I have stopped to take a photo (I usually give no warning when the urge strikes) of something that most might walk by, unnoticed.  I want to breathe life into these little pieces of the City, make them into something different all together.  I am excited by color, and by the abstractions and patterns that are created by getting close.

I like the Retro Camera application because it replicates the effect of film and it’s accompanying nostalgia.  Now that I have begun to shoot film again, I have noticed that I have been taking far less camera phone photos. It just doesn’t compare with the real thing.  This will probably change in June, when I will be able to switch from an Android phone to an iPhone (counting the months!) and have a wider range of photo applications available to me.

I shared the photos from this project with friends on Facebook and I am working on ways to share them with a larger audience- posting them here being one.  As I learn how to blog, I am trying to figure out a way to have the whole series on another page of this blog (hence you see the In New York link at the top of the blog.)  Once I figure it out, I will let you know. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the above preview!

One thought on “*pop*

  1. Seth Lavissiere says:

    Your blog is off to a great start. Can’t wait to see what comes next!

Leave a Reply

